A A A

Electronic Resources



Ancestry.com has the largest collection of genealogical data available online to help you find your ancestors. Users of  Ancestry.com can access over 2 billion names in more than 3,000 databases to help them extend their family trees. Ancestry.com offers many valuable databases, including:

  • Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage Books
  • American Genealogical Biographical Index
  • AIS Census Index
  • U.S. Federal Census Images (1790-1920)
Ancestry.com is available within Musser Public Library on the public library computers as well as on personal laptops. Simply click on the icon above or here to access Ancestry while in the library. Please check with the Reference Desk for more information.


EbscoHost provides FREE access for Muscatine residents to full-text magazine, newspaper, business, health, and school magazine databases, 24 hours a day from home or office. To access EbscoHost, you will be asked to enter the barcode number from your Musser Public Library card. This project was funded by a grant from the Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust.

To access EbscoHost please click here.
 
EbscoHost is now available on the mobile platform. To access EbscoHost on your smartphone/Internet enabled device, please click here.



Mango is the fast, easy, and most effective way to learn to speak a foreign language!

Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective. The system is completely web-based and remotely accessible, so you can learn anywhere you have an internet connection. As you listen to and repeat after native speakers, you'll learn more than just words and phrases. You’ll learn how those pieces can be rearranged and combined to make new thoughts, new conversations, and even more practical communication! In no time at all, you'll be able to navigate all sorts of everyday situations — get directions, order a meal, make new friends — the possibilities are endless!

Mango is FREE at Musser Public Library library - learn more by visiting us online:

http://libraries.mangolanguages.com/musser/start





Welcome to Optimal 2.0, a career management platform brought to you by OptimalResume.com in partnership with your organization. Inside, you’ll find a variety of tools to help you CREATE, PRESENT, MANAGE and SHARE your professional credentials.

You can use this website to:

* Create high-impact, interactive career materials based on your career goals
* Present your materials online — with our easy-to-use website builder — and in print, as you can download your materials in a number of formats
* Manage an unlimited number of career documents from one central location * Share your credentials with your network on your own professional website and across social networking sites

If you have used the system before and already have an account, simply log in to begin.

New users click here to create an account.

Searchasaurus is the children's version of EbscoHost.  The clickable graphics help children to find encyclopedia, magazine and newspaper articles of interest to them.  Just type in your library card barcode number to access this database!

To access EbscoHost please click here.
 


 

EbscoHost Espanol is the Spanish language version of our popular magazine and newspaper database.  Just type in your library card barcode number to access the database in Spanish! 

To access EbscoHost please click here.


With HeritageQuest online you can find ancestors and relatives in the complete set of US Federal Census records from 1790-1920.  You can also find information on people and places described in over 25,000 family and local history books all online!

To access HeritageQuest please click here.
 

Join the Online Book Clubs

Read books
in your email.
New books
each week.
Sample 2-3
chapters.
Click Here

Book Clubs

Join our Online Book Clubs. Every day, Monday through Friday, you will receive in your email a five-minute selection from a chapter of a book. By the end of the week, you’ll have read 2-3 chapters. Every Monday we start a new book. Sign up and start reading.
 


BookNews provides direct access to the most up-to-date Bestseller and Award Winners Lists and over a dozen genre specific newsletters. Click here to see more.


Learning Express is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Sign in and start on your path to success right now.
 


Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas.
 


TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of TumbleBooks, animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they¹ll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book that you can read, or have read to you.
 


TumbleReadables is an online collection of read-along titles for elementary, middle school, and high school students that features adjustable online text and complete audio narration. Sentences are highlighted as they are being read and the pages turn automatically. The collection features chapter books, early readers, YA/Teen Novels, high interest/low level books for both middle school and high school students, plus classics of American and English Literature.



NetLibrary eAudiobooks

eAudiobooks are now available at Musser Public Library through OCLC NetLibrary. Residents of Muscatine now have anytime, anywhere access to over 3,000 different titles.

eAudiobooks can be accessed and downloaded via the library's Website, www.musserpubliclibrary.org, or by clicking here and entering in your 14 digit library barcode.

eAudiobooks allow library users to listen to materials on-the-go. eAudiobooks can be checked out from a personal computer via the library's website, 24/7. Users may check out up to 10 eAudiobooks at a time, and they are automatically returned to the library at the end of the checkout period.
 

 

Wilbor Blue Ribbon Downloads for Iowans is where you can browse hundreds of downloadable audiobooks! Check out and download best selling titles to your PC, then transfer to a portable device or burn many titles to CD to enjoy anytime, anywhere.

To access Wilbor downloadable audiobooks please click here.
 


 

Morningstar Investment Research Center

  • Research more than 23,000 stocks and mutual funds
  • Build and analyze an investment portfolio
  • Learn about stocks, mutual funds, and portfolios

To access the Morningstar database inside the library please click here.

To access the Morningstar database from a remote location such as your home or business click here.



The Auto Repair Reference Center™ database includes automotive repair information supplied by Point 5 Technologies, Inc., under license from Nichols Publishing, the former publisher of Chilton® Information, and information from Delphi Integrated Service Solutions. Auto Repair Reference Center contains information on most manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles.

To access the Auto Repair Reference Center, please click here and have your library card number ready.




Home Improvement Reference Center™ is the definitive online tool for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc.

To access the Home Improvement Reference Center, please click here and have your library card number ready.



Looking for the perfect book? Check with one of our librarians to learn more about NoveList Plus and the great narrative nonfiction our library has to offer. With more than 220,000 fiction titles and over 60,000 nonfiction titles, NoveList Plus has something for everyone.

To access NoveList Plus, please click here and have our library card ready.

General Information

Mon. - Thurs.    
10am - 9pm
Fri.  10am - 5pm
Sat. 10am - 5pm
Sun. 1pm - 5pm

tel. 563.263.3065
fax. 563.264.1033

304 Iowa Avenue
Muscatine, IA 52761