Databases

Welcome to our Electronic Resources page! The following list enables access to several online resources that are provided, free of charge, to our patrons. Most of the resources are available via remote access although some may only be accessed in the library. See each resource for more information.

Ancestry.com (In-house use only)

With over 1.2 billion records in over 3,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition is the most comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research available.

 

Books & Authors

Explore the world of reading. Find your next great read utilizing author, title, and series searches. Browse by genre, search award winners or create your own who-what-when-where inquiry.

 

Brainfuse: Adult Learning Center, JobNow, & Vet Now

Provides test preparation resources for adult learners, including GED, HiSet, TASC, and US Citizenship practice tests. Live job coaching available Monday-Sunday from 12:00-10:00 p.m. Live veteran support available Monday-Friday from 1:00-9:00 p.m.

Chilton Library

Deliver reliable automotive help online 24/7 through ChiltonLibrary, trusted by automotive enthusiasts and professionals for more than 100 years.

Credo Reference

Credo provides access to the full text of over 1,000 encyclopedias and subject handbooks. Includes images, audio files, and videos. You’ll find authoritative information covering: Agriculture, Geography, History, Science, the Social Sciences, and many more subjects within this reference resource.

 

 

Duolingo

Duolingo is the most popular language-learning platform and the most downloaded education app in the world, with more than 170 million users. The company’s mission is to make education free, fun and accessible to all. Duolingo is designed to feel like a game and scientifically proven to be effective. In addition to its core platform, the company created the Duolingo English Test (DET), an affordable and convenient language certification option that is accepted by over 60 universities.

Get Duolingo’s app for Apple iOS devices or Android devices!

Apple iTunes Store

Android/Google Play

freegal Music

Freegal Music gives you access to millions of songs from over 10,000 labels including the Sony Music catalog of your country.

Gale Elementary In Context

Gale In Context: Elementary give children a safe place to find answers to their questions, practice research skills, and explore interests inside and outside the classroom. It also gives teachers access to digital resources that can supplement and enhance instruction.

Gale In Context: Elementary, gradually lets elementary school children gain comfort with research by delivering age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of subjects taught in the classroom like animals, arts and music, social studies, and more. Unlike other classroom databases, Elementary offers kids through grade 5 a platform with rich visuals that will encourage their natural curiosity and get them excited about learning.

Gale Legal Forms

Create accurate, reliable legal documents with no hassle. Gale Legal Forms provides free access to editable, Iowa-specific legal forms and is updated on a regular basis.

Gale Middle School In Context

Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale’s reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.

This middle school database provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Explore all sides of an issue.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.

Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

HeritageQuest

With HeritageQuest online you can find ancestors and relatives in the complete set of US Federal Census records from 1790-1920. You can also find information on people and places described in over 25,000 family and local history books all online!

Have your library barcode number ready.

Iowa Gale Pages Resources

Gale Pages is your link to all things Gale. Gale provides multiple resources for patron research article searching, car repair, book recommendations and much more.

Khan Academy

The Khan Academy library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the computer.

Get Khan Academy’s app for Apple iOS or Android devices!

Apple iTunes Store

Android Google Play

The New York Times

Enjoy free, unlimited access to the world’s finest journalism on nytimes.com

Newspaper Archive

NewspaperARCHIVE is the world’s best resource for historical and genealogical information. Our unique archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more. Explore your family tree and discover your history at NewspaperARCHIVE, the world’s largest online newspaper archive.

To access this resource in the library click here.

To access this resource from a remote location click here.

Newspapers.com

Through the Newspapers.com website, inside the library, you can access the entire Muscatine Journal from its inception date in 1873 through April 2019. There are also several variations of the Journal that are available. This resource is keyword searchable and can be accessed on your digital device while inside the library or by using the library’s public access computers.

It is recommended that you create a free account in order to utilize the full site. You can download entire pages or selected areas to save as a file or print and you can share via email, pages and clippings.

For more information please see staff at the Service Desk.

This resource cannot be accessed remotely.

Niche Academy

Niche Academy is the simpler way to learn online! This service allows you to access a variety of tutorials covering library resources and materials, along with tutorials on how to become more familiar with different software and technology tools.

Do you want to learn how to use our online resources like OverDrive, Valueline, Transparent Languages, and more? Niche Academy tutorials include video instruction AND printable, step-by-step guides. Watch from your computer, laptop, tablet or smartphone. Check out Niche Academy’s quick and easy tutorials for straightforward steps and get started.

NoveList

NoveList is your personal guide to deciding what to read next. Try it out – search by author, title, series or plot. In addition to the reviews of over 200,000+ fiction titles, you’ll also find lists of award-winning books, discussion guides, and recommended reads.

 

RBDigital Magazines

RBDigital Magazines for Musser Public Library offers access to your favorite magazines for instant browser streaming and app-driven offline viewing.

The RBDigital Viewer account also enables patron access to the free mobile and desktop apps for PC/MAC, iPad, iPhone, Android, Kindle Fire, & Blackberry Playbook. Other devices access the magazines checked out in the library collection account via browser streaming. There is no checkout period limit or volume limit.

Reference Solutions

Reference Solutions is the premier source of business and residential information for reference and research. Reference Solutions offers the most up-to-date data available in the market. The database offers library patrons accurate data on 45 million businesses and 270 million consumers.

Rivershare Digital Libraries from OverDrive

All you need to access eAudiobooks and eBooks is your Musser Library card. Content can be downloaded to your computer and/or transferred to a portable device. You may need to download the OverDrive media software – available within the site.

 

Sanborn Maps

Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors.

Spanish Language Resources

A collection of Spanish language resources available online and through Musser Public Library & HNI Community Center.

Transparent Languages Online

This language-learning resource offers instructional courses for over 100 languages. Begin to develop or build upon your listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in one or more foreign languages. Includes ESL (English as a Second Language) courses for over 26 languages.

ValueLine

Value Line is the most trusted and prestigious name in the investment field. For more than seventy-five years Value Line has been synonymous with trust, reliability, objectivity, independence, accurate information and proven performance for investors.